How to Find Out If Your Child Has Dyslexia

When a child presents low school performancedoesn't always mean she's lazy or disinterested, can be a hereditary disorder known as dyslexia. Who has the disorder presents difficulties in reading and writing. Also, at the time of writing, the person exchanges or omits words. With this, learning is soon impaired.

According to the International Dyslexia Association (IDA), the disorder affects 17% of the world's population and is usually identified in classrooms in the years after literacy. The earlier the diagnosis, the lower the child's learning impairment.


The most common signs that the child has the disorder are: difficulties with language and writing; difficulties in writing; difficulties with spelling and slowness in learning to read.

In some cases, the child will also have dysgraphia (ugly letter); difficulty with math; difficulties in understanding written texts and difficulties in learning a second language.

But the Association warns that the diagnosis should be made by a multidisciplinary team composed by speech therapist, psychologist, psychopedagogue, should also be considered the result of some tests such as audiometry, neurological evaluation, auditory processing and visual processing.


Psychopedagogue Roselaine Marquetti explains that "people with the disorder are intelligent, but have to use other devices to learn". They usually perform well in oral tests and practical activities. Their intelligence is not affected by dyslexia.

After diagnosis

Dyslexia has no cure, but treatment is long and persistent, but no medication is required.

Lack of proper treatment can, in addition to learning, impair social life, cause anxiety or depression. But the biggest problem is that the disorder usually affects the child's self-esteem. "The child realizes that it is different but does not know the way to deal with it," explains Roselaine. Accompaniment mitigates the difficulties and the student will find alternative mechanisms for learning.


If the child is diagnosed with dyslexia, the family should also inform the school. Recognition of the disorder will prevent the child from being considered a bad student and education professionals should seek solutions to deal with the child's difficulty.

At home, parents should be careful about their studies and avoid serious charges. Ideally, they also help the child, motivate and encourage. For example, dyslexics understand more when someone reads to it.

If treated early, as an adult, dyslexic learns to cope with difficulties and, especially, to overcome them. "It creates its own mechanism to be able to read and write without many problems," concludes the psychopedagogue.

What are the Symptoms of Dyslexia? (January 2021)


  • Prevention and Treatment
  • 1,230

Comment savoir si votre enfant a la dyslexie

Quand un enfant se présente faible performance scolairene signifie pas toujours qu'elle est paresseuse ou désintéressée, peut être un trouble héréditaire appelé dyslexie. Qui a le trouble présente des difficultés en lecture et en écriture. De plus, au moment de la rédaction, la personne échange ou omet des mots. Avec cela, l'apprentissage est vite altéré.

Selon l'International Dyslexia Association (IDA), cette maladie touche 17% de la population mondiale et est généralement identifiée dans les salles de classe dans les années qui suivent l'alphabétisation. Plus le diagnostic est précoce, moins le trouble d'apprentissage de l'enfant est faible.


Les signes les plus communs que l'enfant a le désordre sont: difficultés de langage et d'écriture; difficultés d'écriture; difficultés d’orthographe et lenteur à apprendre à lire.

Dans certains cas, l’enfant sera également atteint de dysgraphie (lettre laide); difficulté en maths; difficultés à comprendre des textes écrits et difficultés à apprendre une langue seconde.

Toutefois, l’Association recommande que le diagnostic soit établi par une équipe multidisciplinaire composée d’un orthophoniste, d’un psychologue, d’un psychopédagogue et que le résultat de tests tels que l’audiométrie, l’évaluation neurologique, le traitement auditif et le traitement visuel.


La psychopédagogue Roselaine Marquetti explique que "les personnes atteintes de ce trouble sont intelligentes mais doivent utiliser d'autres appareils pour apprendre". Ils fonctionnent généralement bien dans les tests oraux et les activités pratiques. Leur intelligence n'est pas affectée par la dyslexie.

Après le diagnostic

La dyslexie ne guérit pas, mais le traitement est long et persistant, mais aucun médicament n'est nécessaire.

L'absence de traitement approprié peut, en plus d'apprendre, nuire à la vie sociale, causer de l'anxiété ou de la dépression. Mais le plus gros problème est que le trouble affecte généralement l'estime de soi de l'enfant. "L'enfant se rend compte que c'est différent mais ne sait pas comment le gérer", explique Roselaine. L'accompagnement atténue les difficultés et l'élève trouvera d'autres mécanismes d'apprentissage.


Si la dyslexie est diagnostiquée chez l'enfant, la famille doit également en informer l'école. La reconnaissance du trouble empêchera l'enfant d'être considéré comme un mauvais élève et les professionnels de l'éducation devraient rechercher des solutions pour faire face aux difficultés de l'enfant.

À la maison, les parents doivent faire attention à leurs études et éviter des accusations graves. Idéalement, ils aident aussi l'enfant, motivent et encouragent. Par exemple, les dyslexiques comprennent mieux quand on leur lit.

S'il est traité tôt, à l'âge adulte, le dyslexique apprend à faire face aux difficultés et, surtout, à les surmonter. "Il crée son propre mécanisme pour pouvoir lire et écrire sans beaucoup de problèmes", conclut le psychopédagogue.

Grandir - Mon enfant est dyslexique (Janvier 2023)


  • Prévention et traitement
  • 1,230