Why should children play sports?

In Brazil, one in three children is overweight. This high rate is not only due to the fact that little children today eat more processed products than natural ingredients, but also because they do not play sports.

Because they have to devote time to work, personal life, and motherhood, women let their children spend hours at their computer or video games. And worrying consequence of this situation is the sedentary Child obesity.


Children carrying a sedentary lifestyle have a higher risk of developing heart problems, diabetes or other chronic diseases. For this reason, more than being mindful of eating, mothers should encourage their children to practice sports early.

No matter what the sport, childhood sports are fundamental to healthy growth and yet provide benefits to body and mind. Check out these benefits:

  • Tightening of the musculature;
  • Favoring psychomotor development;
  • Promotion social integration;
  • Creation of healthy habits;

And speaking of modalities, one must be careful when choosing the sport that the child will practice. For example, even babies can engage in physical activity. Through swimming, sports involving rules and competition should be left to older children, who are already mature to understand that they can lose or win.


Learn about kids' favorite activities and find out which ones are best for your child:

1. Swimming: Due to the movements under water, swimming can improve breathing capacity, increase balance, strength and motor coordination, as well as develop psychomotor activities. This activity assists in the prevention and recovery of asthma, bronchitis and orthopedic problems.

The practice is recommended from 6 months of age.


2. Dance: Doing synchronized ballet steps or doing any other kind of dance is a great way to exercise the body. Dancing develops motor coordination, agility, lightness, flexibility, balance and strength, and offers notions of rhythm, time and space.

Children from 3 years old can move their body in rehearsed choreography.

3. Martial Arts: Karate, Judo and Tae-Kwon-Do develop the discipline and character of the child, characteristics that can be transferred even to studies. In addition, these sports stimulate balance, flexibility and agility.

Sports recommended for children aged 4 and over.

4. Football, handball, volleyball and basketball: As practiced in teams, these sports develop the ability to work in groups and to interact with other children. The child himself can choose one of these modalities.

Through playful activities, it is possible to start practicing soccer, handball, volleyball and basketball from the age of 3. However, to start competitions and sports rules, children must be at least 5 years old.

Pediatrician Julia Borges explains that "behind the interest in maintaining a healthy routine, children should see the fun nature of sports during childhood."

Pay-to-play sports keeping low-income kids out of the game (January 2021)


  • Children and adolescents
  • 1,230

Pourquoi les enfants devraient-ils faire du sport?

Au Brésil, un enfant sur trois est en surpoids. Ce taux élevé est dû non seulement au fait que les petits enfants consomment aujourd'hui plus de produits transformés que d'ingrédients naturels, mais également au fait qu'ils ne pratiquent pas de sport.

Parce qu'elles doivent consacrer du temps au travail, à la vie personnelle et à la maternité, les femmes laissent leurs enfants passer des heures à leur ordinateur ou à des jeux vidéo. Conséquence inquiétante de cette situation, le mode de vie sédentaire et, par conséquent, la obésité chez les enfants.


Enfants portant un mode de vie sédentaire ont un risque plus élevé de développer des problèmes cardiaques, le diabète ou d'autres maladies chroniques. Pour cette raison, plus que de se préoccuper de manger, les mères devraient encourager leurs enfants à faire du sport tôt.

Quel que soit le sport pratiqué, les sports d’enfance sont essentiels à une croissance saine tout en apportant des avantages pour le corps et l’esprit. Découvrez ces avantages:

  • Resserrement de la musculature;
  • Favoriser le développement psychomoteur;
  • Promotion de l'intégration sociale;
  • Création d'habitudes saines;

Et en parlant de modalités, il faut être prudent lors du choix du sport que l'enfant va pratiquer. Par exemple, même les bébés peuvent faire de l'activité physique. Par la natation, les sports impliquant règles et compétitions devraient être laissés aux enfants plus âgés, qui sont déjà matures pour comprendre qu'ils peuvent perdre ou gagner.


Découvrez les activités préférées des enfants et déterminez celles qui conviennent le mieux à votre enfant:

1. Natation: En raison des mouvements sous l'eau, la natation peut améliorer la capacité respiratoire, augmenter l'équilibre, la force et la coordination motrice, ainsi que développer des activités psychomotrices. Cette activité contribue à la prévention et au rétablissement de l'asthme, de la bronchite et des problèmes orthopédiques.

La pratique est recommandée à partir de 6 mois.


2. Danse: Faire des pas de ballet synchronisés ou tout autre type de danse est un excellent moyen d’exercer le corps. La danse développe la coordination motrice, l'agilité, la légèreté, la flexibilité, l'équilibre et la force, et offre des notions de rythme, de temps et d'espace.

Les enfants à partir de 3 ans peuvent bouger leur corps dans une chorégraphie répétée.

3. Arts martiaux: Le karaté, le judo et le tae-kwon-do développent la discipline et le caractère de l'enfant, caractéristiques qui peuvent être transférées même aux études. De plus, ces sports stimulent l'équilibre, la flexibilité et l'agilité.

Sports recommandés pour les enfants de 4 ans et plus.

4. Football, handball, volleyball et basketball: Tels qu'ils sont pratiqués en équipe, ces sports développent la capacité de travailler en groupe et d'interagir avec d'autres enfants. L'enfant lui-même peut choisir l'une de ces modalités.

Grâce à des activités ludiques, il est possible de commencer à pratiquer le football, le handball, le volleyball et le basketball à partir de 3 ans. Cependant, pour commencer les compétitions et les règles sportives, les enfants doivent avoir au moins 5 ans.

La pédiatre Julia Borges explique que "derrière l'intérêt de maintenir une routine saine, les enfants devraient voir la nature amusante des sports durant leur enfance".

Obésité Enfant ????????????: Pourquoi et Comment Faire Pratiquer Plus d'Activités Physiques aux enfants ? (Juin 2021)


  • Enfants et adolescents
  • 1,230