Synchronized menstruation: fact or myth?

Synchronized Menstruation It is a recurring issue in conversations between women. But it can be a controversial subject. Menstruating at the same time or for a period close to a friend's period seems to have great sentimental value.

The coincidence becomes a sign that, in fact, there is a very strong connection between these women; and it is precisely this bond of friendship that would make two friends menstruate together. But does synchronized menstruation really exist or is it just a mathematical coincidence? Know more.

A matter of pheromones

The pheromones They are substances that allow the mutual and sexual recognition of individuals. The excreted pheromones are capable of eliciting specific physiological and / or behavioral reactions in other limbs that are in physical proximity, living in the same environment, for example. This is the case with most animal species, such as rats, whose cycle is synchronized by the fact that females are able to detect pheromones from each other's urine.


In the case of humans, it would take a large amount of pheromones for the women's organism to be able to detect by the smell that another woman is also menstruating.

However, according to an article published in Scientific American, the mechanism for detecting pheromones related to synchronized menstruation is weak in humans.

So far, studies have considered that it would be possible to detect pheromones through sweat, but there are no studies showing that women respond to another woman's pheromones through the odor of sweat.


Mathematical coincidence

Moreover, according to studies, the popular belief in synchronized menstruation would be a coincidence.

That's because women today? who have fewer children and increasingly have access to contraceptive methods? menstruate about 400 times during a lifetime, even considering the periods of pregnancy and the degree of energy spent during breastfeeding and / or exercise.

That number would be enough to create this perception of sync. Furthermore, the article states that considering that a cycle lasts 28 days (not a rule but an example), the maximum time two women can be together without being menstruating is 14 days. On average, there are 7 days. In half of the occurrences, this period is even shorter. Considering that menstruation usually lasts about 5 days, it is not surprising that friends have menstruations in similar periods.

Therefore, it is not a phenomenon resulting from the proximity between friends nor is it related to hormonal issues. It is a coincidence, mathematically speaking.

Do Menstrual Cycles Really Sync Up? (May 2021)


  • Contraceptive Methods, Prevention and Treatment
  • 1,230

La menstruation synchronisée: mythe ou réalité?

Menstruation synchronisée C'est un problème récurrent dans les conversations entre femmes. Mais cela peut être un sujet controversé. La menstruation simultanée ou pour une période proche de celle d'un ami semble avoir une grande valeur sentimentale.

La coïncidence devient un signe qu’il existe en fait un lien très fort entre ces femmes; et c’est précisément ce lien d’amitié qui ferait que deux amis aient leurs règles ensemble. Mais les menstruations synchronisées existent-elles vraiment ou s'agit-il simplement d'une coïncidence mathématique? En savoir plus

Une question de phéromones

Le phéromones Ce sont des substances qui permettent la reconnaissance mutuelle et sexuelle des individus. Les phéromones excrétées sont capables de provoquer des réactions physiologiques et / ou comportementales spécifiques chez d'autres membres situés à proximité physique, vivant dans le même environnement, par exemple. C'est le cas de la plupart des espèces animales, telles que les rats, dont le cycle est synchronisé par le fait que les femelles sont capables de détecter les phéromones dans l'urine de l'autre.


Dans le cas des humains, il faudrait une grande quantité de phéromones pour que l'organisme de la femme puisse détecter à l'odeur qu'une autre femme a aussi ses règles.

Cependant, selon un article publié dans Scientifique américain, le mécanisme de détection des phéromones lié aux menstruations synchronisées est faible chez l’homme.

Jusqu'à présent, des études ont estimé qu'il serait possible de détecter les phéromones par la transpiration, mais aucune étude n'a montré que les femmes réagissent aux phéromones d'une autre femme par l'odeur de sueur.


Coïncidence mathématique

De plus, selon des études, la croyance populaire en une menstruation synchronisée serait une coïncidence.

C'est parce que les femmes aujourd'hui? qui ont moins d'enfants et ont de plus en plus accès à des méthodes contraceptives? menstruations environ 400 fois au cours de la vie, même en tenant compte des périodes de grossesse et du degré d’énergie dépensé pendant l’allaitement et / ou l’exercice.

Ce nombre serait suffisant pour créer cette perception de la synchronisation. En outre, l'article indique que, considérant qu'un cycle dure 28 jours (non pas une règle mais un exemple), le temps maximal pendant lequel une femme peut être ensemble sans être menstruée est de 14 jours. En moyenne, il y a 7 jours. Dans la moitié des cas, cette période est encore plus courte. Considérant que la menstruation dure environ 5 jours, il n’est pas surprenant que des amis aient menstruations dans des périodes similaires.

Par conséquent, ce n'est pas un phénomène résultant de la proximité entre amis, ni des problèmes hormonaux. C'est une coïncidence mathématiquement parlant.

Robyn Stein DeLuca: The good news about PMS (Décembre 2023)


  • Méthodes contraceptives, prévention et traitement
  • 1,230